some observations…

…about last night’s episode of American Idol.

1) New judge Kara DioGuardi is a very, very welcome addition to the stale trio of Randy, Paula and Simon. She knows what she’s talking about, she can actually sing, and she isn’t afraid to go toe-to-toe with the contestants.

2) Ryan Seacrest tried to high-five a blind man. It was so painfully awkward I had to look away from my TV.

3) Bikini Girl. I don’t know your name, (nor will I bother to look it up because I suspect you’re the kind of fame whore who Googles yourself to see how awesome you are) but I would like to punch you soundly in the face. Do you really think that wearing an Ed Hardy bikini and singing “Vision of Love” exactly the same as Mariah Carey did is a way to advance in this show? Well, apparently it is, but I CANNOT WAIT to see you and your barely-on-pitch voice get eaten alive during Hollywood week.

4) Simon – I love you just the way you are. You were funny without being mean, and nothing makes me laugh harder than the horrified looks that cross your face as you listen to terrible auditions. Your shtick was getting stale there for a while during seasons 6 and 7, but you seem to have perfected the balance between mean and snarky this year.

Two more hours of this nonsense tonight. I can’t wait.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Kara DioGuardi’s cuteness almost makes up for Simon’s horrid haircut

    Reply

Leave a Reply

