the sun and the sand and a drink in my hand.

In 17 days, I will be on a plane headed to our Spring Break destination.  As excited as I am, I can’t believe it’s so close. We booked this trip back in the beginning of October, and March 15 seemed sooooo far away. Now it’s frighteningly soon.

We’ve all joked throughout the semester that it’s “__ Weeks to Bikini Body,” but it’s really not as comical as one would think. I’m going to the gym as much as I can, and suddenly I’m worried that I’m too pale to be seen in a bathing suit in two weeks. I’m translucent to begin with, and the fact that most of my skin hasn’t seen sunlight since August isn’t helping. One of my bikinis is white and it’s hard to discern where the fabric ends and my skin begins. I’m already anticipating being sunburned, so I’ll make sure my wardrobe coordinates with red.

As excited as I am about white, sandy beaches and an ocean that looks turquoise, there is so much for this anxious girl to get through before then. Packing is the bane of my existence, and I’m not lying when I say I’ve been thinking about what to pack since we booked the trip. My Spring Break Checklist is getting freakishly long, and I’ve been making myself loco trying to plan my laundry in order for everything to be ready to go.

Then there’s the flight. I’ve only flown twice in my life, and during takeoff on my first flight when I was 16, I had a full-fledged panic attack. Many people have told me that air travel is safer than driving, but there’s just something so unnatural about a large, heavy, metal object being suspended in the air. I’ve even worked for an aircraft manufacturer and I still don’t understand or embrace travel via airplanes.  Our flight is fairly early in the morning so I’m hoping I’ll be too tired or running on a crazy adrenaline rush to have another panic attack, because there’s really nothing better than hyperventilating in front of the 20-something other people you’re going on Spring Break with.

Once I’m safely on Dominican soil, things are going to get a lot better: an all-inclusive resort and 80-degree weather.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

